The Archaeological Museum of Eretria constitutes one of the most important archaeological museums of Greek space in which findings are presented from different eras. Prominent in “those holding sculptures of the temple of Apollo, and especially the complex of Theseus with the Amazon Antiope. The museum is located in the immediate vicinity of the site, which helps to better understand it. The building of the museum belongs to the Greek state, and its expansion to a second great hall was funded by the Swiss School of Archaeology.
The findings from excavations of the local Inspectorate and foreign archaeological schools (Swiss and British School) in the area of Eretria. Chronologically cover the entire spectrum of habitation of the area from the Bronze Age to the Roman times.
The Archaeological Museum of Chalkida is housed in a building of the early 20th century. and collects finds from all over Evia. The basis of the neoclassical buildings have carved stonework in the polygonal system, while the corners are reinforced with ashlar masonry. Above the main entrance of the building and is open gable keramoskeptasto. The building has a large courtyard and three rooms, where the exhibits presented. The building belongs to the Greek state and revamped to accommodate Euboea antiquities.
The exhibits are arranged chronologically from the Paleolithic to the Late Roman period and from excavations in Evia. The exhibition of the Museum has collections with finds from the settlement and cemetery of Manika (2800 – 1900 BC) Mycenaean pottery and figurines, collection Economou Evia, Viotia pottery and terracotta, collection of classical and Hellenistic coins from Chalkis, Eretria and Karystos, Roman votive sculptures from Chalkida and Evia, funerary monuments from Chalkida, the new Lampsacus and honorary decrees. In the museum courtyard contained resolutions, funerary monuments and Roman sculptures. Since the exhibits stand a seated female statue of the 4th century. BC marble funerary stele depicting new and dog (second quarter of the 4th century BC.), a votive column show Pluto and Dionysus (mid-4th century BC.), statue of Antinous (2nd c. AD), headless statue of Apollo or Dionysus (Roman copy), female statue Hellenistic Age and two heads kouros the Archaic Age.
The Archaeological Museum of Chalkida is housed in a neoclassical building, which belongs to the State, in Street El. Venizelos 13. The construction of the building was completed in 1901 to 1902, was launched in 1902 and is a study of the architect Lykakis. Its current form taken by the exhibition of the Museum since 1990, under the responsibility of the then Superintendent Mr. E. Sapouna-Sakellaraki. The number of findings which had been revealed in Halkida, the broadest area, but also in other places sto island gave rise to the establishment of the archaeological museum in the city, which would house artifacts from all over Evia and give a picture of the historical, political and social development of the island.
The museum exhibition was organized in such a way that on the one hand to outline the history of the island and on the other to bring out special thematic entities ancient monuments prove particularly instructive for visitors. In the courtyard presented funerary monuments, resolutions, architectural sculptures and Classical, Hellenists and Roman times. In the three halls of the museum there is a chronological classification of showcases and the exposed objects starting from the Paleolithic Era (circa 100000 BC) and ends in Roman times. Visual material with informational tables and photos better epixigoun findings and inform visitors about the historical development of the island. On the right room of the museum presents the findings from the Stone Age until the Geometrical years. The left room continues the tour of the visitor in the history of the island, with exhibits from the Archaic to the Roman era. The main hall is dedicated to large plastic Classical, Hellenistic and especially Roman times, which sets the tone of Euboean art in this field.
The number of findings from the ongoing excavation of the local Inspectorate imposed the reorganization of the report, which was presented to the public in 1990. A decade earlier the museum building had to be repaired after the earthquakes of 1980-1981. Also revamped and the forecourt to the operation of the two sheds and the green space in order to relieve congestion on the main hall that could accommodate other findings now
The Folklore Museum of Kimi founded in 1981 by the Cultural Association and civilizing Kimi. It is the largest and best organized folklore museum of Evia and one of the best of its kind regional museums of the country. Moreover, he has the character of the city museum.
It is housed in a three-story neoclassical building of the 19th century, located in the center of town, and belonged to the National Bank of Greece which housed for years here in the store.
The museum’s collection, which numbers about 1600 items, apartisthike donations from residents, who have supported and continue to support morally and materially the whole effort of the establishment and operation of the Museum.
The museum has rich collections of objects, which represent the following sectors of folk art: The collections are exhibited in the Museum, 450 sqm, as follows:
On the ground floor is a large room with costumes, uniforms of soldiers of the Balkan Wars, the vestments of St. Nektarios, the sacred utensils, wood carvings, jewelery and ” urban corner ”. Also the hall with household utensils and independent rooms Office with Library and Archives (Photo, Ichothiki, Film) and the photo lab.
Upstairs are the rooms that depict the living room and bedroom in the standard form, the room with the loom and weaving, the three smaller rooms with embroidery and knitting and the hall of the forms and Kimi photos and the life wave benefactor of mankind C. Pap. Upstairs is the storehouse of folklore.
In the basement is the kiroplasteio, the area of laundry and traditional basement with cellar and agricultural tools. Also syntiritirio and cafeteria.
In the museum garden is constructed circular open-air theater of 250 seats, which have been many events such as theater performances, lectures, classical music concerts and artistic Greek song and cinema from the Film Club Association.
In the village of Pyrgos Kimi in private ” House Chrysanthopoulos’ operates the Annex of the Museum, with its collection of popular artist of the 19th century Sotiris Chrysanthopoulos, with the diverse talent in secular and religious work such as: images, murals, reliefs, and the library comprising incunabula editions.
The Museum cooperates on a permanent basis or as appropriate, with Universities, the International Council of Museums (ICOM), Research Centres, Museums like, Libraries. Galleries and private scientists to perform research objectives.
The museum has documented his collection, which preserves scientific. It offers its guests a multilingual informative guide. He has participated in exhibitions and TV shows in Greece and abroad and has significant publishing activity. The museum is visited by many students in organized visits of schools, contributing significantly to the cultural tourism in the region.
The multi-purpose hall, the expansion of the museum, used for lectures, seminars, art exhibitions, adult educational programs, especially students, use necessary and complementary to the Museum’s opening, according to the perceptions of contemporary Museology.
Weaving (mainly gossamer silk and tiriplenia)
Embroidery (mainly koukoularika frames and white embroidery)
Clothing (male-female bridal, party, weekdays)
Folk painting (G.D’Esposito projects Sot. Chrysanthopoulos).